Latest News

2016 Chair and Vice Chair announced

January 22, 2016

On Thursday, January 21, members of the Edmonton Police Commission selected a new Chair and Vice Chair for 2016. Chair Cathy Palmer has been with the Commission since 2011. Most recently, she represented Edmonton as Chair of the Canadian Association of Police Governance. She also served as Vice


2016 Chair and Vice-Chair to be announced, three new Commissioners welcomed at January public meeting

January 20, 2016

Join us this Thursday as we announce the new Chair and Vice-Chair of the Edmonton Police Commission, the election of whom will take place during the in-camera meeting earlier in the afternoon. In addition, we will welcome three new Commissioners to the board. Mr. Laurie Hawn has extensive


Three New Members Join Commission

January 5, 2016

The Edmonton Police Commission is pleased to welcome three new Commissioners to the board in 2016: Mr. Laurie Hawn, Mr. Tim O’Brien, and Ms. Micki Ruth. Their first public meeting as Commissioners will take place in City Hall’s River Valley Room on Thursday, January


Commission Office Christmas Holiday Hours

December 22, 2015

The Edmonton Police Commission office is closed from 12:00 pm Thursday, December 24, 2015, until 8:00 am Monday, January 4, 2016. Compliments or complaints received through Commission online forms, mail, or voicemail will be dealt with when the office opens on Monday, January 4. If your compliment or complaint is urgent, please


EPS interfaith database, Heavy Users of Service featured at November meeting

November 18, 2015

Join us this Thursday as Edmonton Police Service Chaplain Lawrence Peck discusses the EPS Interfaith Database and Religious Leaders Network: a communication network that will assist in investigations and help officers understand faith issues and practices. Members of the EPS will also address the Heavy Users of Service (HUoS) project,


Next Public Meeting

The Edmonton Police Commission’s next public meeting is scheduled for:

Thursday, February 18, 2016 @ 6:00 p.m.
River Valley Room
Main Floor, City Hall
1 Sir Winston Churchill Square
Edmonton, Alberta
View meeting agenda

Citizens are invited to attend public meetings and provide their input to the Edmonton Police Commission about policing issues in their community. View guidelines for speakers.

View other scheduled meetings


Message From the Chair

Happy New Year! After reaching the end of his six-year tenure on December 31, 2015, the Edmonton Police Commission said farewell to Chair Shami Sandhu. On January 21, 2016, members of the Commission elected a new Chair and Vice-Chair: Ms. Cathy Palmer and Mr. John Lilley, respectively. We are also pleased to welcome three new Commissioners to the board in 2016: Mr. Laurie Hawn, Mr. Tim O'Brien, and Ms. Micki Ruth.